Five join Board of Directors

Published Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Crisis Assistance Ministry welcomes five new members to its Board of Directors for 2018. Made of volunteers from Charlotte’s corporate, faith, and nonprofit community, the Board provides oversight and guidance to Mecklenburg County’s lead agency providing aid to families facing financial crisis.

Stuart Christhilf of Pamlico Capital, Tanqueray Edwards of Duke Energy, Quentin Fogan of Bank of America/Merrill Lynch, Wendy Franklin of Carolinas Healthcare System, and Court Young of Myers Park Presbyterian began service this month.

The 18-member governing board is led by Ed McMahan of Falfurrias Capital Partners as President, Joe Gigler of Metrotech Automotive as Vice President, Chris Jackson of Goodwill Industries of the Southern Piedmont as Secretary, and Brad Winer of Deloitte Corporate Finance, LLC, as Treasurer.

Also continuing service are: Melissa Agnew of LPL Financial, Henry Agusti of Bank of America, Sarah Coble of Carolinas Healthcare System, Michael Martino of Wells Fargo, Lisa Quisenberry of Wake Forest University, Nikhil Sawant of Snyders-Lance, Inc., Leigh Ann Smith of Bank of America, Joe Taylor of Centerlane Capital, and Scott Warfield of NASCAR.

About Crisis Assistance Ministry

Crisis Assistance Ministry is Mecklenburg County’s Lead Agency offering emergency assistance to impoverished families. Specifically, Crisis Assistance Ministry helps families facing financial crisis by: providing for basic needs with rent and utility assistance, clothing, household goods, furniture, beds, and appliances; fostering financial stability through partnerships, counseling, and support to give families the tools they need to move toward stability; and educating the community about the realities of poverty in Mecklenburg County. In FY2017, more than 21,000 families received some form of assistance from the agency. Visit them online at to learn more about preventing homelessness and preserving dignity.